theKindOfMe

August 5, 2011

Taking the Plunge: D5100, My first DSLR

Filed under: Uncategorized — yasi8h @ 3:54 am

About two weeks back, i finally took the plunge and brought my first DSLR: D5100. In retrospect i think it was a impulse buy. I was a bit stressed out from a busy schedule and i think this was my escape from all of it. I have been thinking about buying a DSLR for a long time. However i couldn’t justify the expense all this time. But now it seems to be worth it. As photography have given me a reason to be excited about something. A hobby that i desperately needed.

Been a total newbie to photography and with a tiny budget i didn’t have a lot of choices when deciding which camera body to invest it. I think the wise decision would have been to go for a second hand body and spend more cash on some good lenses. But i didn’t do that :P

I had to decide between Cannon 550D/ 600D/ Nikon D5100. All were in the same price range. And here in Singapore, the Nikon was the cheapest. Although else where the cheapest would have been 550D. After going thorough zillion reviews and articles. The general idea i got was 600D was good for video while D5100 was good for photos (as in it produced better quality photos/better low light sensitivity/better sensor).

As my primary aim was photography and also because the Nikon was cheaper, i went for it. I took the bundled body-lens kit which came with a 18-55 lens. I think so far it have been grate. It lets me take good landscape and portraits. However i am always touching its limits. Sometimes its not wide enough, and sometimes it’s not long enough :)

But i guess the important thing is that i am having fun learning photography and experimenting with it. You can follow me on flickr at http://www.flickr.com/thekindofme

1 Comment »

  1. Hey friend, Pretty good blog. I will post a link on my tumblr page.

    Comment by Billy — September 30, 2011 @ 5:31 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

